How to Delete or Deactivate Your Instagram Account

Maj. January 13, 2020 at 11:02 min.

Instagram is a social network with growing success. The figures for its evolution are impressive. Bought by Facebook, Instagram is THE fashionable social network based on photos and videos. However, some users have tried the experiment and have not been seduced. Then it’s time to delete or deactivate your account. We’ll tell you how to do it! Follow the guide!

In April 2012, Facebook acquired the Social Network Instagram. Already at that time the new photo-centred social network was a hit. Its strength is that it offers filters that allow you to share photos that are more polished than those found on other networks. To be successful on Instagram, you have to know how to stage your shots.

Years later, Instagram continues to be a phenomenal success. As of June 2018, Instagram is worth up to $1 trillion. The application has new features including Stories inspired by another social network, Snapchat. Today, Instagram is the fastest growing social network. Instagram has 1 billion users worldwide.

Some users have even made Instagram a profession. The instagrammers or influencers share photos and videos on themes that are close to their own: lifestyle, music, books, fitness, video games etc. On the flip side, Instagram has lost its authenticity over time. For the average user, the social network has become a tool for depression rather than anything else. On Instagram, we’re not in the real world, we’re in the courtyard where everyone puts on their mask and creates a character. Instagram is the perfect social network to stage your life.

This lack of authenticity, some users don’t want it anymore. Little by little they desert the service until they make a radical decision, delete their account. Note that some people delete their account to create another one, with a clean slate. But then how do you delete your Instagram account? We’ll show you the way.

Instagram: how to deactivate your account

Before the deletion step,some users first deactivate their account, just to make a little truce. This is not done through the mobile application but through the web version of Instagram. Here’s how to do it:

VIDEOS RECOMMENDED FOR YOU

ONEPLUS CONCEPT ONE – Getting to grips with the smartphone with invisible photo sensors at the back

ONEPLUS CONCEPT ONE – Getting to grips with the smartphone with invisible photo sensors on the back

03:01

Now playing

Galaxy Note10+ Star Wars Edition – unboxing and getting started

05:26

Galaxy A51: Samsung’s new mid-range tester

07:27

OPPO RENO: SHARK WING smartphones have been TURNED INTO HOME

09:10

  • Open your web browser and launch the Instagram page.
  • Enter your identifiers
  • Click on the profile icon in the top right corner of the window and then click onmodify profile
  • Select Temporarily deactivate my account
  • Then enter your password to validate your choice.

how to disable instagram

Be aware that a deactivation is not permanent. You will be able to reactivate your account by simply logging into Instagram by re-entering your username and password on the Home page

How to permanently delete your Instagram account

Before proceeding to the final deletion of your Instagram account, it is strongly recommended that you first save the photos of the network you wish to keep, because afterwards it will be impossible. Then to delete your account, you will have to follow the following steps:

  • Open the page dedicated to account deletion on Instagram
  • Enter your user name and password
  • A list suggests you give the reasons for your departure
  • Enter your password one last time
  • Click on the red button

Once this last click is made, your Instagram account will be permanently deleted. If you want to be part of this community again later, you will need to create a brand new account. So, are you really going to leave the social network for good?

More information about Instagram

 

 

 

 

You May Also Like