Google Chrome Warns You if Your Password Has Been Stolen

google chrome password alert

Google has updated the protection tools built into Chrome, including password protection. The main new feature is a message that alerts the user if they have entered their credentials on a site whose security has been corrupted. Protection against phishing has also been extended.

google chrome password alert

Chrome is one of the most used web browsers in the world, if not THE most used. Whether on a computer or smartphone, on Android, Chrome OS, Windows, MacOS or iOS, the browser offers a relatively homogeneous experience on all platforms it is present. A visual experience, on the one hand, but also a protection for the users. In particular, Chrome offers the possibility to save and enter passwords.

Only, if the identifiers stored at Google are globally safe, they are not necessarily safe outside of Chrome. Two situations are potentially at risk: the servers of websites where passwords are stored may be subject to attack and the websites to which users log on may be fraudulent. Google has an answer to both of these problems. Today the Mountain View firm detailed how it plans to improve security for Chrome users.

Read also: Phishing: This test from Google reveals your ability to identify the traps

First interesting element: security alert. If you have saved a password in Chrome and the website security associated with that password has been corrupted, Chrome displays an alert prompting the user to verify the password and change it. This function was first integrated in the Password Checkup extension. It is now extended to Chrome in the Safe Browsing protection package. Note that you must be signed in to Chrome with a Google Account for this to work.

Predictive and real-time phishing protection

Second interesting element: the predictive detection of phishing sites. To fully understand the interest of this function, let’s recall the rules of phishing. This is a fraudulent site that poses as a legitimate site and invites you to enter your login and password to steal your credentials and usurp your identity (or take a few pennies from you). Google has a list of sites identified as dangerous or potentially dangerous. When you click on a link to a dangerous site, Chrome protects you from it.

Read also: Instagram fights phishing with a new method, but is it enough?

This list is updated every 30 minutes. During this time, new fraudulent sites may appear (or old sites may change address). And you’re exposed. Hence the interest in predictive protection, which identifies potentially dangerous sites based on their behaviour. This protection already existed for all Chrome users logged in to their account and having activated synchronization between devices. It now extends to everyone, even without synchronization. This is especially useful if you connect with a device that does not belong to you (such as a public computer).

 

 

 

 

You May Also Like